jump to navigation

Help? October 10, 2007

Posted by Winter in the adventures of mind the gap.
trackback

We’re holding a discussion night in a couple of weeks time on food and diet, so if anyone has written or read any posts or articles on these topics, or seen any outlandish diets we could discuss, we would be very pleased to hear from you in the comments or by email! You’d be helping a feminist group keep a discussion on track.

We’d also be interested in weirdly gendered food, such as this lovely Barbie cake. I even found a newborn baby cake but it was too disturbing to post. I don’t want this blog to become too creepy, we have enough of that with Zenobia’s scary toy pictures.

Comments»

1. Louisefeminista - October 10, 2007

I know this is a bit daft suggestion, but have a look through women’s mags (Closer, Now, Grazia). And many of these have diet plans and such like i.e. Closer diet where some celeb went on it and lost xlbs…
Unfortunately, I have an addiction to these mags. It is a conflict and contradictions my feminism but hey….I am fascinated by them and their pre-packaged morality.

Also, what is your view of the anorexic model, Isabelle Caro stripping naked for Italian fashion label Nolita? Her emaciated body adorns billboards everywhere. The message is supposedly a warning to the current trend and obsession with size 0. But will showing this young woman really make women think?

2. Winter - October 10, 2007

Yes, I’ve been meaning to post on those helpful “Don’t be anorexic because it makes you look disgusting” posters myself, but good discussion at Cruella’s.

3. Debs - October 11, 2007

Well, I’m not sure if it’s the sort of thing you’re after, but I’ve posted on my recent decision to become vegan, and wondering whether it was a feminist act. I’ve had some interesting comments. x


Leave a Reply

