jump to navigation

Blogrolling December 12, 2006

Posted by Winter in admin.
trackback

I want to categorise the blogroll to make it more user-friendly for readers. This isn’t easy because there’s usually crossover, but so far I’m thinking of creating categories (not necessarily in this order) for Feminists, Radical Feminists, Radical Women of Color, LGBTQ Feminists, Men & Feminism and Tag-Team Feminism. Any others we should have?

I’m also going to give the roll a much needed polish, remove dead links, update all the people whose blogs have moved and add some new ones.

Comments»

1. Anonymous - December 15, 2006

“I’m thinking of creating categories (not necessarily in this order) for Feminists, Radical Feminists, Radical Women of Color, LGBTQ Feminists, Men & Feminism and Tag-Team Feminism. Any others we should have?”

Hmmm, something tells me there’s a theme here…

2. JaneDoe - December 15, 2006

Hi folks. I’m a long time reader of your blog, even though I’m no longer in the UK and am now plugging away at my own feminist blog on the other side of the pond in Canada. It’s still fairly new, but if you think you could add it to your blogroll I’ll be honoured! The address is http://www.writtenonthebody.wordpress.com
Cheers.
Jane

3. Anonymous - December 18, 2006

I’m a lesbian feminist living in Cardiff. I’ve been reading your blog for some time, admire what you do and am delighted that you’re doing it here. But my heart sinks when I see that as a lesbian I’m automatically lumped in with gay men, bi-women, transgendered people and queer folk. Would I be right in guessing that you’re straight? Just have that uncomfortable feeling that tells me straight is the norm, and anyone who ain’t straight goes in the mixed sexuality/gender group. It’s ever so slightly more complicated than that – for me, anyway…

4. Winter - December 18, 2006

No, I’m a lesbian.

I suppose I suggested an LGBTQ category because it wouldn’t bother me to be included under that banner and I’ve seen it on other people’s blogrolls and categories. Moreover, the blogroll is already unwieldy and having lesbian feminist, bisexual feminist, transgender feminist etc. etc. categories would create a lot more work for us.

But I’ve actually vetoed the idea anyway because it was just too difficult to manage. Where did I put lesbian woc? In woc or Lgbtq? Where do I put the lesbian radical feminists etc. Endless problems.

So I’ve cut it down to feminist voices, rad fems, radical woc and men at the moment.

Still, it’s an interesting question. Anyone else have strong feelings about this? Do you mind going under lgbtq? would you prefer your own category?

And I do mention my sexuality in a lot of my posts ) :

5. Winter - December 18, 2006

As the blogroll got longer and longer, the idea was to make it easier for readers looking for certain takes on feminism. I just thought it might be helpful to group together those feminist bloggers who write a lot on lgbtq issues and feminism. I wasn’t trying to set up a normal straight blogroll, although I can see how it could look that way.

6. Anonymous - January 3, 2007

Hi!

I’ve just recently noticed that you’ve linked to my blog here. Thanks. 🙂 I’d just like to point out, though, that I’m not located in the US, I’m in Oceania. For privacy (possibly paranoia!), I won’t be any clearer than that. 🙂

I’ve linked to your blog on mine as well.

7. Winter - January 3, 2007

Sorted.

8. Renegade Evolution - January 5, 2007

Wow…how I made it on this here blogroll amazes me, but thanks, I dig it.

9. Winter - January 6, 2007

Gosh, I wonder how this blog is perceived!

The idea behind the blogroll is to present a broad range of voices either within feminism or engaging with feminism in an interesting way. In the context of this blog’s aim to discuss feminist theory and activism I think it would be radically dishonest to include only certain kinds of feminist. You can’t have a real debate without acknowledging the presence dissidents and the people who disagree with more mainstream feminist politics.


Leave a Reply

