jump to navigation

torture sells September 14, 2006

Posted by Winter in media, rape, violence.
trackback

I’m not sure I should give these images any more publicity but I’ve come to the conclusion that feminists need to have access to them. I don’t have time to do analysis right now, so if you want to have a look, click on the link and then on State of Emergency.

Warning: If you have experienced rape, sexual assault, abuse or violence, these images WILL be extremely triggering. I would advise you not to look at them unless you have a support system in place.

I think what worries me most is the way images suggesting rape and torture are being used in what seems to be little more than a publicity stunt. Of course, in posting the images I am allowing myself to be manipulated and I suspect we’re going to see more and more deliberate manipulation of feminism as companies realise that publishing something outrageously misogynistic guarantees a very strong reaction and mass dissemination of the material, especially on the internet.

It’s a kind of feminist catch 22 I suppose.

Comments»

1. Literary Hoax - September 19, 2006

Just when you thought the fashion industry couldn’t get any more misogynistic… here we go.

I agree that shock value = marketing hype, and the fashion industry overuses this to the point of numbing the audience, but inadvertently helping to disseminate their product by critiquing it is still better than letting it go without comment. Thanks for sharing the link.


Leave a Reply

