jump to navigation

Social sickness April 11, 2006

Posted by Winter in body politics, food.
trackback

Yet another survey telling us what we already know: very large numbers of British women worry about their bodies to a frightening extent. I would like to know a bit more about the group surveyed, but from the look of the magazine running the poll, I’d guess that they’re generally younger women earning a reasonable amount of money.

Will this crazyness continue until the majority of women become mentally ill in relation to their bodies? The kind of behaviours and thinking described in this article look pretty pathological to me.

Comments»

1. witchy-woo - April 11, 2006

I know! I listened to a radio vox pop this afternoon. Women/girls from just my town saying “I hate my thighs/stomach/breasts/bum/arms/calves/shoulders” etc…
I agree it’s almost pathological. And I’m wondering why no men are ever asked about these things….

2. Siberian Fall - April 12, 2006

Here’s my problem. Magazines like that one positively promote low self-esteem in order to sell make up/anti aging cream/perfume/100 ways to please your man. Then they feign concern over women’s self image problems.

Good god I hope people don’t read articles like that and think that these glossy magazines are now part of the solution to these problems. They are intrinsically part of the problem. I’d get rid of 90% of women’s magazines given the chance. Rubbish of the most dangerous kind.

3. Winter - April 12, 2006

You could argue that the survey feigning concern is actually part of their market research: “Oh good, it’s working, they really hate themselves!” After all, any diet/makeup/beauty company would be pleased to advertise in a magazine with such a readership.

4. Sage - April 13, 2006

I recently read about a study of economically disadvantaged women who said if they could change one thing about their lives, they’d change their weight. (See more here.) It really is a social sickness.

5. piecesofeight - April 16, 2006

Yes, because if the majority of women were happy about their bodies, these magazines wouldn’t have any reason to exist… just another way to lower female self-esteem and confidence. I haven’t seen any men’s magazines with ‘get rid of your beer belly in 30 days!’ articles.


Leave a Reply

