jump to navigation

Christmas Shopping December 18, 2005

Posted by Winter in capitalism, fun, gender issues.
trackback

By Siberian Falls


Well it’s that time of year again. With all my work wrapped up, and nothing to do until January I have turned my attention to more pressing matters. Like what in the world am I going to buy everyone for Christmas? Moreover, how can I avoid going into Cardiff on the weekend and getting trampled by the crowds and waiting twenty minutes for a free till in a shop playing ‘Panpipe Christmas Moods’ on repeat? I have a friend who actually takes a book with her to read in the queues, which isn’t an altogether bad idea, thinking about it.

My approach to avoinding the unpleasentness of the Christmas hordes is online shopping. I logged in to my Amazon account and on my welcome page I was greeted by this! ‘Soapbabes’ calander 2006. Oh, now my life truely is complete. What is a feminist to do when even custom made homepages think we want air brushed, fake tanned, poorly fed, soap ‘actresses’ to look at everyday. I’ve never been good at present buying before but Amazon isn’t helping! I was so annoyed I almost bought 8 copies of ‘The Whole Woman’ to distribute instead of shopping properly. But I think I did something similar last year. There must be a better way to buy presents. Oxfam have a wonderful range of fairtrade chocolate and coffee. Perhaps that’s the way forward. I think I might be safe from infuriating images there.

I hope everyone else’s Christmas shopping is going a little better than my own. To cheer myself up I might ask Winter and Naiades to join me in writing a ‘Best Feminist Music and Books of 2005’ post if it hasn’t been done already. Any suggestions for inclusion? Oh, and Merry Christmas!

Comments»

1. Winter - December 18, 2005

Perhaps you could get 8 copies of a different feminist book this year. Or, you could just fall back on the old War and Peace option.

Would it be a list of books and music produced this year or a list of the best things we’ve discovered this year?

2. Louise Whittle - December 19, 2005

I have been meaning to ask this for ages but does anyone know what has happened to the Women’s diary? Women’s Press published it and bought one every year up until 2003. I have emailed them and am waiting for a reply.

The diary seems to have ceased to exist and there is a gap in the market for a good feminist diary and I do miss having one as I bought the one Spare Rib produced in the 80s and the Women’s Press in the 90s.
…Maybe one could be produced for next year.

Louise

3. Anonymous - December 19, 2005

“An individual is not a nation.” Maybe you might contemplate rewording this to “a woman is not a gender”?

Additionally because these ‘actresses’ aren’t as consumed with gender’s role in society you appear to be looking down on them. Well people on pedestals should be something you are fighting against, not becoming.

The role of a feminist is not to stop any kind of non-feminist activity going on (or to deplore it) but to empower the female race so that it is equal in society to its opposing gender. The plight of women is hindered, not helped, by people seeking to prevent any form of sexual allure being used in advertising/society/etc.

4. Naiades - December 19, 2005

I think a book and music list would be very cool

rx

5. Anonymous - December 19, 2005

female race? Have I missed something here – I thought we were all part of the same “race” (though such a term tends to have eugenicist connotations), and that “we” were struggling against inequality, oppression and bigotry (to name but a few) in all its forms


Leave a Reply

